“Spider-Man: Homecoming” SPOILERS REVIEW

**Spoilers for Spider-Man: Homecoming**

 

What was your favorite part of the movie?

To me, the best part of the movie was the whole third act. When Tony Stark takes back the suit, we are left with a vulnerable Peter Parker. He doesn’t have his gadgets to save him. He has to rely on his own strengths and powers to overcome the obstacles ahead of him. My favorite Spider-Man moments are the ones where he loses. It sounds harsh to say at first, but think about it.

Super heroes always end up on top. Most of the time, these “gods” have a moment or two of weakness, but in five minutes they are back and stronger than ever. Spider-Man isn’t like this. He is young and naïve. He has no experience in this grown-up world. He feels invincible because of his abilities, but we know that he isn’t bullet proof. So when he loses, it feels devastating to him. He’s supposed to be this great superhero like Iron Man or Captain America, but he just caused this ferry to be torn in half.

Bringing this character to his lowest point, and then slowly bringing him back up is an incredible story. It’s powerful to see this young man learn from his mistakes. Even the smallest victories feel gratifying and earned. That’s what the best parts of this third act do really well. He has no suit and he has no Tony. Oh, and his girlfriend’s dad is trying to kill him.

Even when everyone is saying no, Spider-Man stays true to his morals and goes after The Vulture anyways. When that building falls and traps him underneath, Peter is at his lowest point. There is so much that is *literally* putting him down and saying NO. It’s through this chaos that Peter learns his lesson. He doesn’t need the suit, he doesn’t need the gadgets, and he doesn’t even need Tony. He IS Spider-Man, and he CAN make it through this. Getting out of that debris might have been a small task for someone like Thor, but this small victory is the reassurance that Peter needs. It’s through that feat of strength that Peter can go on and stop The Vulture.

Not by the press of a button, but by Peter’s own will.

What was your least favorite part of the movie?

Like I said before in my spoiler-free review, I HATED the suit. He felt more like Iron Man Jr. and not at all like Spider-Man. The conflicts were never really that interesting, because he had all the necessary tools to either solve his problems or save him from certain consequences. I do like the look of the suit, but there is just too many gimmicks to be the best Spider-Man suit.

What is the best Spider-Man suit?

Easy. The Amazing Spider-Man 2. Not the best movie… But the design of the suit is terrific.

What are you looking forward to with this franchise?

I would LOVE to see this universe of characters be explored more in the future, especially introducing Miles Morales. I have my own theory on how this could happen in the future, but I’ll save that for another post. I’m hoping that Spider-Man stays close to the ground after Avengers: Infinity War. Spider-Man works best when he’s fighting bad guys on the streets. I do hope that we get to see Gwen Stacey or Mary Jane in the sequel. I don’t care that Zendaya is playing “M.J”, her name isn’t Mary Jane so there could still be a Mary Jane out there. It’s not that I don’t like Zendaya playing Mary Jane, it just felt really forced at the end and doesn’t feel like she is actually supposed to be MARY JANE. If she is going to be the love-interest for Peter, then that’s fine but I do want to see Mary Jane or Gwen Stacey show up soon.

Who do you want to be the next villain?

I think that Kraven the Hunter would be an excellent villain for the sequel. I want to see another villain that hasn’t been be in a movie before, and I think Kraven could be an interesting antagonist for Spider-Man. I am looking forward to Scorpion, and I’m curious to see how they handle his character design. It’ll be interesting to see if they are going to try to make a Sinister Six movie. I’m all for it. I doubt Marvel will do this, but I would love to see Wilson Fisk from the Netflix series play a large role in a Spider-Man movie. After all, King Pin is a major Spider-Man villain, and is already a compelling character in the Netflix universe.

So those are some of my Spoiler thoughts on Spider-Man: Homecoming?

Let me know your responses to these questions down below! I’d love to read them!

Thanks for reading!

-Manny 🙂

 

**My next review will be on Dunkirk**

 

 

Leave a Reply

