“Spider-Man: Homecoming” REVIEW

**No spoilers for Spider-Man: Homecoming. Spoiler review is coming soon!**

 

If you don’t already know, Spider-Man is a really important character to me. He’s my favorite superhero, and throughout the years, I have had some serious ups and downs with regards to the Spider-Man movies. But I was blown away by the NEW Spider-Man appearance in Captain America: Civil War and was incredibly excited for Spider-Man: Homecoming. And, for the most part, I was really happy with the film.

This is easily the best portrayal of Peter Parker AND Spider-Man. Tom Holland does an incredible job of bring a real sense of charm and vulnerability to the character. You easily attach to him, as someone who wants to be a part of something they are not ready for. He’s always looking for a way to impress everyone and prove his worth. Peter Parker is EXCITED to do what is right and is looking forward to the next moment he can put the suit on. It’s that energy and anticipation to BE THE HERO that is so much fun to watch and one of the reasons I love Spider-Man. He’s having fun, and so are we.

As much as I adore Spider-Man 2, there is one flaw in it that this movie does much better.

Spider-Man’s witty dialogue.

It was present in the airport battle in Civil War and it is present here. Spider-Man is an annoying guy to deal with from the bad guy’s point of view because he won’t SHUT UP! It’s great! He’s quick remarks and “internal” conversations are well written and add a lot to Spider-Man’s personality.

I was worried that Tony Stark would steal too much of the spotlight and make the movie more like an “Iron Man 4”. Thankfully, this doesn’t happen. Tony doesn’t have a giant role in this movie, but he does have an important one. There is no Uncle Ben in this movie, and Tony feels like the kind of mentor that Peter really needs to get him through his struggles in this movie. His scenes are short, but they are impactful to the overall plot. Happy (Jon Favreau) is great in this film! He plays a fun supporting role for Peter and it was nice to see Jon Favreau back in the MCU because of his personal attachment to the franchise.

This movie does one thing that MOST MCU movies haven’t done. Make a great, memorable villain. Michael Keaton’s role as The Vulture is incredible. Michael Keaton is calm, collected, and threatening without even saying a word. From the very beginning, you understand he’s motives and actually find yourself sympathizing with the villain. It’s interesting to see this character develop throughout the film.

I was disappointed with a few aspects of Spider-Man: Homecoming. I felt like none of the action sequences where very memorable. There really is never an iconic “Spider-Man web-swinging across the city” scene. The action scenes never reached the levels of excitement and intensity that were present in the train fight in Spider-Man 2. All the action was just basic stuff. Another problem I had with the film was the suit that Spider-Man wears. I won’t go into spoilers, but I felt the suit portrayed Peter Parker as “Iron Man Jr.” instead of Spider-Man. The tech and gadgets made everything feel too easy for Spider-Man. Whenever things got too difficult, the solution was just a button away. I like Spider-Man because of his FAILURES and how he learns from them. Most of this movie’s minor conflicts are resolved by stupid gadgets and button presses.

Spider-Man: Homecoming is an enjoyable movie experience. As a fan of the character, I loved the idea of having a large portion of the film focus on Peter Parker and his high school. His interactions with his best friend and other classmates is something we haven’t seen in a MCU film to date. I do wish that more of the film took place in high school though. I wanted to see the consequences of Peter Parker’s responsibilities as Spider-Man affect his personal life. There were certainly hints at it, but I wanted the movie to go a little further.

As a fan, I really did like this movie. I’m glad the film doesn’t retread origin plot points and instead focuses on being its own story. I do think that there is a lot to improve on and I’m excited to see where these characters go. Hopefully this film recreates the success of Spider-Man 2 and not the failures of The Amazing Spider-Man 2. I’m going to give Spider-Man: Homecoming a GREAT out of 10.

What did you think of Spider-Man: Homecoming?

Let me know down below!

Thanks for reading!

-Manny 🙂

 

**My next review will be on War for the Planet of the Apes, but I am also working on a SPOILER REVIEW of Spider-Man: Homecoming**

 

 

Leave a Reply

