“It Comes at Night” REVIEW

**No spoilers for It Comes at Night**

About three months ago I decided to quit watching trailers for good. I just felt like, 9 times out of 10, the trailer damages the experience of watching the film. Some of the best sequences, shots, and plot points are revealed in most recent trailers. Trailers for horror movies give away some of the biggest scares in the film. In fact, I started this trend of no longer watching movie trailers after seeing Get Out. I really liked that film a lot, however every single scary moment of that movie was ruined by the trailer.

Before all of this though, I did watch the TEASER trailer for It Comes at Night. There really isn’t much to it. The whole trailer is just the camera moving down a hallway towards a red door, with some characters talking about how someone left a door open. The tone and the atmosphere of the trailer really sold me on the film. I really like A24 as a production company, and I think Joel Edgerton one of the best underrated actors out there. So I was really excited for this movie!

Now that I have had a week to process the movie, I can finally share my thoughts on It Comes at Night.

I have no idea if I like this film or not…

Personally, this is the most controversial movie experience I have had in a long time. There are parts of this movie that I absolutely adore and respect as a fan of films but there are other parts that confuse and frustrate me.

So I’m going to break it down piece-by-piece while avoiding spoilers. Let’s start with some positives:

All the acting in this movie is phenomenal. Each actor brought so much to their characters and made them feel like actual people living in this messed-up scenario.

Characters make smart decisions throughout the movie. Sure, there are times when someone does something dumb. However, most of the actions taken make sense and are calculated decisions. I love it when a character does something that doesn’t feel like it was written in a script but actually feels like a clever response in the given circumstance.

The movie NAILS its tone and atmosphere. Just like in the teaser, this movie is dark and dirty. There is a true sense of paranoia that is felt by the characters and by us. The movie never lets go of its sense of dread until the final shot.

The movie is directed so well. Every frame is beautiful to look at even though it takes place in a post-apocalyptic world. You can really see the passion that was put into making this film feel special and uncomfortable all at the same time.

Now for some negatives…

The only information we now about ANYTHING in this movie is also known by the characters during this small portion of their lives. That means we are given no context clues to the background of this film. There are sequences that happen off screen and we (and the characters) have no idea what is happening in those moments. By the end of the movie, we understand very little about anything.

There is no resolution. The film introduces many compelling plot points as it progresses, but by the end, nothing is really resolved. There are so many questions that are never answered.

Some of the “scariest” moments occur during dream sequences. Since we know it’s a dream, then we know that whatever is going to happen is not occurring in the “real world” and is no longer scary. Also, this dream sequences are not very relevant to the overall plot at all. There might be some hidden connection interwoven in these moments, but I didn’t see it.

In fact, this movie doesn’t really have a purpose at all. It’s a simple story about trust and paranoia that just… ends.

That being said, the ending to this movie is outstanding. The final shot is so bold and risky. It took my breath away. I loved it so much.

There’s a lot that I truly loved about this movie. There’s also a lot that truly frustrated me about this movie. It’s really conflicting for me. I feel like right now, in this very moment, the positives slightly outweigh the negatives. I’m going to give It Comes at Night a GOOD out of 10.

What did you think of It Comes at Night?

Let me know down below!

Thanks for reading!

-Manny 🙂

 

**My next review will be on 47 Meters Down**

2 thoughts on ““It Comes at Night” REVIEW

Leave a Reply

