Thoughts on… The BEST Star Wars Characters

In honor of it being May 4th, I wanted to take a minute to talk about my favorite franchise of all time: Star Wars. I specifically want to talk about my favorite character from each trilogy of films (Prequel, Original, and New). I’m not going to go into too much detail, but I just wanted to reflect on the qualities of these characters and what makes them so special to me.

 

PREQUEL TRILOGY – Obi-Wan Kenobi

Obi-Wan is my favorite character in Star Wars, not just the prequels. He is the old, wise Jedi master that lays the ground work for Luke Skywalker to become a great Jedi. Obi-Wan is kind, smart, and willingly to put it all on the line for others. Old Ben was so selfless that he gave his own life to make sure Luke and the others are able to escape the Death Star.

The prequel trilogy was pretty terrible. There are aspects of Revenge of the Sith that I actually enjoy, but overall the quality of the films fail in comparison to the Original films. However, one consistently great factor of the prequels was Ewan McGregor’s portrayal of a young Obi-Wan Kenobi. If you watch some of the behind-the-scenes videos, you can see that Ewan really put a lot of effort into being an accurate version of Obi-Wan.

There are rumors of a possible spin-off movie of Ewan McGregor returning to play an older Obi-Wan before the events of A New Hope, and if that happens, I will lose my mind!

 

ORIGINAL TRILOGY – Han Solo

Han Solo is the coolest smuggler in the galaxy. To me, one of the greatest parts of the Original trilogy is the growth of Han Solo. He goes from a selfish smuggler that’s only in it for the money, to a leader of the Rebellion, fighting alongside his friends! I get a giant smile on my face every time I watch the end of A New Hope, when Han Solo comes back to save Luke from some tie-fighters before Luke blows up the Death Star.

His relationship and romance with Princess Leia is my favorite on-screen romance. Again, the growth and charisma between these two characters throughout these films is so much fun to watch! Han Solo has some of the best lines in the entire franchise. My favorite line, which is also my favorite line in cinema history, is:

Leia: “I love you!”

Han: “I Know.”

Those two words have so much emotion behind and also perfectly reflect who Han Solo is. It’s an iconic line said by an iconic character.

Oh, and Han shot first.

Duh.

 

NEW TRILOGY – Poe Dameron

So far we have only seen one movie in the New trilogy of Star Wars films. In The Force Awakens, we are introduced to some new characters: Rey, Finn, Poe, and Kylo. I love all of these characters, and have some “controversial” opinions on Kylo Ren (He is the greatest villain in Star Wars right now). Rey is a wonderful character, and I think after I see The Last Jedi I will change my mind, but right now my favorite character is Poe Dameron.

He’s the best pilot in the Resistance, and isn’t afraid to come face-to-face with the enemy.

“…So who talks first? You talk first? I talk first?”

Sure, it is annoying that we don’t really know how Poe was able to survive the crash on Jakku or how he was able to make it back to the Resistance. However, EVERY time I watch The Force Awakens and see those X-Wings flying across the water with Poe Dameron leading, I get chills. That one-shot scene of Poe Dameron shooting down several tie-fighters AND Stormtroopers is one of the best moments in a Star Wars film! I can’t wait to see more of Poe and the others in The Last Jedi.

 

So there you go! Those are my three favorite Star Wars characters.

What are your favorite Star Wars characters?

Let me know down below!

Thanks for reading!

May the 4th be with you!

-Manny 🙂

 

**Look out for my review of Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 coming out very soon!**

Leave a Reply

