“Kong: Skull Island” REVIEW

**No Spoilers for Kong: Skull Island**

Before I start my review for Kong: Skull Island I just need to say that I LOVE big scale monster movies. I even enjoyed the newest Godzilla, though I am fully aware of all of its problems. Pacific Rim is one of my favorite cheesy action films because of its concept of giant robots fighting giant monsters. The idea of a cinematic universe involving giant monsters is exciting for me, and I was really looking forward to Kong: Skull Island.

Unfortunately, this film is pretty disappointing. The moments that actually did involve King Kong are great. They are easily the best parts of the movie. The character design of King Kong is cool. He’s a much larger and vicious ape this time around and one that could actually put up a fight against Godzilla. The action sequences between King Kong and the other monsters were fun to watch. They were not as impactful to me as the sequences in Godzilla, but they were still entertaining nonetheless.

Sadly, most of the film does not feature King Kong, and instead we get to spend a majority of the movie with a bunch of unlikeable characters! Yay! I’m not saying that because the characters a horrible people that we shouldn’t root for. I’m just saying that we are given no reason to actually want to root for these characters. Everyone in the movie is one-dimensional. They all have their one gimmick and that’s it. The biggest problem here is that Kong: Skull Island features an incredible cast. Samuel L. Jackson, John Goodman, Brie Larson, Tom Hiddleston, and Toby Kebbell are all in this movie and they do absolutely NOTHING to make this film even slightly entertaining. Their talent is completely wasted in this movie.

John C. Riley is the ONE character that actually tries to be somewhat interesting. His character is treated as comic relief most of the time, and unfortunately, not every joke lands. I would have liked it if he was portrayed in a slightly more dramatic way because his backstory is intriguing. The funny thing is, he is the best character in the movie and has no connection to anyone else in the group!

The movie is super predictable and does nothing memorable, apart from one really goofy scene. It’s an action sequence involving Tom Hiddleston that I thought was so dumb and cheesy. It was a fun scene to watch and I wish more of the film was like that.

I’m sad this movie wasn’t very good. I’m still hopeful of the “Monster-verse” and I am excited to see a King Kong vs. Godzilla movie. With better characters, and a well-established and consistent tone, I think the next “Monster” movie will be much better than this one. I’m going to give Kong: Skull Island an OKAY out of 10.

What did you think of Kong: Skull Island?

Let me know down below!

Thanks for reading!

-Manny 🙂

**My next review is on Life**

4 thoughts on ““Kong: Skull Island” REVIEW

  1. I see how you are getting to the “okay out of 10”. Again….the huge epic battle with the Skull Crawlers were cool! The concept of Skull Crawlers was also something I was super awed by! I rate this review a good out of 10. Good job (thumbs up emoji).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

