“Logan” REVIEW

**There are NO SPOILERS for Logan in this review**

I knew this day would come, but it is still very upsetting. Logan is finally here, and it’s time to say goodbye to Hugh Jackman’s legendary role as Wolverine. It’s bittersweet, but I’m relieved to say that The Wolverine’s final movie is easily one of the best films of the franchise.

This movie is set in the future (2029?) which is the best thing the film could do. Logan separates itself from the X-Men franchise, which really allows the film to focus on Logan and Xavier. Calling this movie an action film is simply false. It is a drama that examines both characters and the scars that they have carried throughout their adventures together and the toll that it is taking on them. It is truly heart-wrenching at times.

Surprisingly, the movie does have some humorous moments throughout. I never actually felt like the “comedic” moments worked as comedic relief during the depressing drama. In fact, I thought those moments actually added to the dread and drama of the characters by highlighting the circumstances these beloved characters are actually in. To me, these moments worked, but in completely different way.

Logan is a VERY R-Rated movie, which makes me happy. This movie is way more effective without the limitations of language and violence. There is nothing that is holding this movie back in delivering the best story it can for Wolverine. It took a while for me to get used to hearing Professor Xavier swear for the first time, but it does make sense under the context of the film. The violence and action in the film is absolutely incredible. It is rough and vicious and doesn’t hold back. Once again, this isn’t an action movie, but when there is action, it took my breath away.

The little girl, Laura, in this movie does everything she can to steal the spotlight from Hugh Jackman. I’m not going to say any details about the character, because part of the joy in this movie is learning about her. I just hope we get to see more of her character in other films.

I do have some small complaints with the film, most of which occurs in the final act of the movie. There are moments towards the end that felt more like an X-Men film and less like a Wolverine film. The first two acts of this movie is so small and grounded, that the moments of the final act felt out of place. I also thought the villain was kind of cheesy. I get why the writers would choose to have the villain be portrayed like that, I just thought it was unnecessary to even have that villain in the first place. I also think the movie ends so abruptly. It would have been even more emotional if some of the dramatic moments at the end were stretched out to last another minute or two. When the credits started to roll, I only teared up a little because the movie never gave me any time to process my emotions. The film just movies on to the next scene, and then it ends.

There’s also this huge expositional scene that logically makes no sense in the movie. But that’s just a really small problem I have.

I’m happy that Hugh Jackman gets to end his career as Wolverine with one of the best films in the franchise, but I’m just as sad to watch him go. The movie’s weaker third act doesn’t ruin the phenomenal first two acts of the film. Logan is another example that ratings should never be more important than the story. The story should always come first, and I hope more superhero films follow this example. I’m going to give Logan a GREAT out of 10.

What did you think of Logan? Let me know down below!

Thanks for reading!

-Manny 🙂

 

**My next review will be on Get Out**

4 thoughts on ““Logan” REVIEW

Leave a Reply

