“La La Land” REVIEW

**No Spoilers for La La Land**

 

I FINALLY got to see this film, and now it’s time to review it!

Since this review is so late, there really isn’t much to say that hasn’t already been said. So I’m going to focus on some highlights of the film, and then wrap up the review with some more personal reasons as to why this movie is so good.

The movie is directed by Damien Chazelle, who directed Whiplash, and this film is GORGEOUS. Every shot of this movie is so beautiful to look at. There are some moments in La La Land that are just breathtaking.

Ryan Gosling seriously impressed me in 2016. He was easily my favorite part of The Nice Guys and he proves once again in La La Land that he is the real deal. The way he carries himself throughout the film really brings his character to life. Emma Stone is also incredible in the film. There’s a reason why these two are nominated for Oscars. The passion they have for this film really shows on the screen.

The musical moments are so entertaining and charming! The music is terrific and it’s shot so well. I immediately downloaded the soundtrack when I got home, and I’m still listening to it today, which is a serious achievement for the movie.

So, to conclude this review, I want to share my thoughts on what this film really meant to me. Yes, this film is put together excellently, but it’s the message of the movie that really spoke to me. These two characters are working towards one thing that everyone has: DREAMS. Both of these characters are striving towards their own success. For Mia, it’s to become a successful actress. For Sebastian, it’s to become the owner of a successful Jazz club. For me, it’s to become a successful nurse and have a beautiful family. For you, it could be something simple or complex. It really doesn’t matter WHAT your dream is, but that you actually HAVE a dream. When watching this movie, I automatically attached to these two characters because I could really relate to them. No, I don’t want to become an actor or own a Jazz club. But I have a dream, just like them, and I’m working towards that dream, just like them. Something that I really admire about this film, is that their success doesn’t fall on their laps. They have to work for it. They have to make sacrifices. They have to EARN it. That’s just life. That is what the movie said to me. Amidst all this fantasy of songs and dance, there is this real statement the movie makes. Dreams are not given to you, you have to go out and work for them.

This movie was a real inspiration for me to keep working towards my dreams. It’s also just a solid entertaining film that deserves every Oscar it’s nominated for. I had a blast watching this film and I hope you do/did too! I am going to give La La Land a FANTASTIC out of 10.

 

What did you think about La La Land? Let me know down below!

Thanks for reading!

-Manny 🙂

 

**My next review will be on John Wick: Chapter 2**

 

Leave a Reply

