“Split” REVIEW

**NO SPOILERS FOR SPLIT IN THIS REVIEW**

 

Split tells the story of three girls trying to escape after being kidnapped by a man with 23 distinct personalities.

So this was one of my most anticipated movies of 2017 because I have always believed that, under the right circumstances, M. Night would return with a film of the same caliber as The Sixth Sense or Unbreakable. I’m happy to say that Split is indeed the film I have been waiting for!

The movie fills like a return to form for M. Night, even more so than The Visit. It’s a very tense thriller, that has some quirky moments and characters to help relieve some of the built-up tension. The film never surprised me in the scares, but honestly the movie doesn’t have to. It focuses on the awkward circumstances with these different personalities to make you uneasy, and for the most part it works!

Speaking of the different personalities, let’s talk about James McAvoy. This guy delivers an incredible performance, the best I have ever seen from him. (Or is it performances? Either way, it’s fantastic!) Each of his personalities were different and unique. Even though it was the same person, some of the characters were intimidating and very threatening. Others actually made you feel empathetic for them, which was a cool experience. His execution of these characters was so precise, that there was no confusion as to which character was on screen. Out of all the personalities, Hedwig was probably my favorite. He has some of the best lines in the movie, and some very memorable moments.

Anya Taylor-Joy does a great job as Casey, the protagonist of the group. It becomes clear almost instantly that there is something else that is going on with her, and the movie does a nice job slowly revealing things to the audience.

I wish I could say the other girls did a fine job too, but I would be lying. Compared to the others in this film, they were pretty bad. Their performances were bland and it really shows when they are in the same scene as James McAvoy. As some of the victims of the movie, I didn’t really care what happened to either of them, because they really add nothing to the film.

The psychiatrist in the movie, played by Betty Buckley, does a much better job in this film than in The Happening. Sadly, she is used more as a tool to deliver exposition to the audience rather than being an actual character. When she does get to be an actual character, she is a very interesting one that doesn’t get as much time to shine as I would’ve liked.

There is A TON OF THINGS I have to say about this movie, because I really do love it. In order to really get into why I LOVE this movie, I would need to talk about spoilers, but I’m not going to do that here. I am working on another blog post that talks about this movie with all the spoilers.

The movie was very well-paced, and told a very enjoyable story. The movie was shot pretty well, and has some pretty intense moments. It was quite an enjoyable, self-contained story, with some stunning performances. I’m going to give Split a GREAT out of 10.

 

What did you think of Split? Let me know down below!

Thanks for reading!

 

-Manny 🙂

 

**After my SPOILER review of Split, my next review will be on La La Land!**

4 thoughts on ““Split” REVIEW

Leave a Reply

