Thoughts on… My Rating System

Now that I have a few movie reviews up, I thought it would be a good idea to explain my review system, and why I chose it over others.

I think that it is nearly impossible to compare two movies with grades that are almost identical. For example, let’s say someone gave The Dark Knight a 9.5/10 and The Godfather a 9.8/10. You could look at those two grades and come to the conclusion that this person believes The Godfather is a better movie than The Dark Knight. However, this is not always the case. When reviewing The Godfather, that person did not come up with that score by comparing it to The Dark Knight. These scores are given to these movies individually and do not reflect how the person feels about that movie in comparison with every other film. These movies are also part of two completely separate genres of film too, so it’s hard to compare these equally terrific films because these movies are meant to achieve different things.

Looking for a superhero film with an incredible villain? The Dark Knight.

Looking for an engaging story of a character’s fall from grace? The Godfather.

What I’m trying to get at here is that it is hard to compare films based off the score of a rating, and that’s why I chose a “vague” rating scale. I want it to difficult for someone to look at my movie ratings and say that I clearly like The Dark Knight more than The Godfather, or vice versa.

Here is my rating system from the worst movies to the best:

Terrible – Bad – Okay – Good – Great – Fantastic

Not every movie that I give a FANTASTIC rating would be included in my list of the “Best Movies of All Time” simply because sometimes a movie is just “fantastic” based off of how much I enjoyed the experience of watching it, like Pacific Rim. Comparing movies is an impossible task, and that’s why my rating scale is so vague. I never want to get technical in the rating of a movie, but instead look at the movie as a whole and describe it in one adjective. How you compare movies based off of my “Adjective Rating System” is up to you, and will probably be different from my own opinions.

Just to give you an idea of what kinds of movies would fit each category of my rating system, I made a list:

TERRIBLE: Attack of the Clones, After Earth, Fantastic Four, Pixels, Purge: Election Year

BAD: The Phantom Menace, Suicide Squad, Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice, Alien 3, Prometheus

OKAY: Revenge of the Sith, The Amazing Spider-Man, Saw, Captain America: The First Avenger

GOOD: Blair Witch, Spider-Man, I Am Legend, Avengers: Age of Ultron, Star Trek: Beyond, Godzilla 

GREAT: Captain America: Civil War, The Raid, Don’t Breathe, The Bourne Identity, The Accountant

FANTASTIC: Rocky, Aliens, The Dark Knight, The Godfather, Spider-Man 2, Halloween, Pacific Rim, Rambo, Creed

 

What are some other movies that you would give a TERRIBLE or FANTASTIC rating? Let me know down below!

Thanks for reading!

-Manny 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on… My Rating System

Leave a Reply

