“Passengers” REVIEW

Passengers was a movie that really frustrated me. Now there were parts of the film that I really liked, but most of the movie was wasted potential. Let me start off by saying I am a huge Chris Pratt fan. I really admire the guy and fully support him and his career. I was pretty excited to see this film to say the least.

The movie tells the story of two people, Chris Pratt and Jennifer Lawrence, who wake up way earlier than everyone else on board a spaceship travelling to a new planet to live on. I have to say I really liked the first act of this film. It feels like a sci-fi interpretation of Cast Away and something that wasn’t explored enough in the film. Chris Pratt does a fine job in a more dramatic role, however the film does find time to show off some of Chris Pratt’s more comedic talent. The ship design in this film was very neat to explore in the first half of the movie.

The first act of the film was the only part that I REALLY enjoyed. Towards the end of the act, it offers this dark idea that the rest of the film doesn’t expand on and actually ignores at points. The more you think about it, the concept is really dark and I think if the rest of the film spent more time on it and less on the other stuff that happens it would have improved the overall movie.

However, this was not the case. The second act tells a charming, yet clichéd romance that drags on a bit. I’m a sappy guy and I enjoy a romantic story in a film, but this “romance” didn’t really shine at all for me. Again, I think it’s because the romance story really ignores the events that happen in the first act. It doesn’t help that the film turns into a generic sci-fi “action” flick that we have seen over and over again. I would prefer to have the film be more of a drama/romance between these two characters and never become an action film at the end.

The one action sequence that I actually thought was pretty cool involves zero-gravity in the pool. It was cool idea, and was a nice highlight in the latter half of the film. The special effects in this film were really well done. Even if the “intense” scenes were not that entertaining, the effects in those moments were well done.

Passengers introduces something new in the film towards the end that really took me out of the movie. It only exists to give the characters the tools to fix the problems they face. THAT IS IT. It was really annoying to see because it served no other purpose in the film except moving the plot along.

Look, overall this film has some cool ideas, especially in its first act. Chris Pratt and Jennifer Lawrence were fine in their roles, and had some nice chemistry. But the film never capitalizes on its darker and more original ideas, and instead settles on action set pieces to tell the story. Passengers ends up being more generic than special which is why I’m giving it an OKAY out of 10.

 

What do you think of Passengers? Let me know down below!

Thanks for reading!

-Manny 🙂

 

**My next review will be on The Flash: Seasons 1 and 2, a show I binged through during winter break**

Leave a Reply

