TOP TEN MOVIES OF 2016

The movies of 2016 had their ups and downs. Today, I want to focus on the positives and make a list of the top 10 movies I saw this year. A couple of things to point out before I start this list.

  • I did not see EVERY movie in 2016. There were quite a few films that I did not get a chance to see.
  • This list is based off of MY opinion. I do want to hear what YOUR favorite movies of 2016 are in comments below!
  • I wanted to see La La Land BEFORE I made this list but unfortunately my theater is not showing that movie until sometime in January. I will make a review of that film as soon as I see it!

Okay, let’s get to the best movies of 2016!

 

10. Don’t Breathe

This movie was a crazy roller coaster of suspense. It was such a unique premise for a horror film and one that worked excellently in its small, contained environment. Don’t Breathe offers up several clever situations for the characters, like a man being trapped on a slowly-breaking glass ceiling. If you’ve seen the movie, you know how crazy intense that scene was. The film has a brilliant moment where a character simply says “Nope! I’m out of here!” and actually leaves the film! It was so cool to see a character actually do something that audience is thinking. This was the most fun I have had watching a horror movie in awhile.

 

9. The Nice Guys

I went to see this movie because of Chris Stuckmann’s review and the fact this movie was not making ANY money in the theater. When I walked out of this movie, I had a smile on my face the whole drive home. The Nice Guys tells a fun detective story with a stellar cast. The chemistry between Ryan Gosling and Russell Crowe was FANTASTIC. The movie had me laughing so hard, and Ryan Gosling’s performance blew me away. It’s a shame this movie struggled at the box office, because this film deserved way more attention than it got.

 

8. Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

This movie took a lot of risks, and for the most part, they paid off. There was plenty to enjoy in this film, and I love the fact that this movie explores more of the lore behind Star Wars. Somehow this movie actually improves A New Hope, which is already a fantastic film. The movie has some fun characters and a great 3rd act, and was a solid spin-off movie. I just hope the Han Solo spin-off will be just as good.

 

7. Captain America: Civil War

Civil War had two goals it needed to achieve. The film needed to tell a solid Captain America story, as well as deliver a faithfully adaptation of the Civil War story in the comics. The movie doesn’t have the GREATEST story in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU), but it does a great job introducing both Black Panther AND SPIDER-MAN!!!! Honestly, the biggest reason why this movie is on the list is BECAUSE Spider-man was so incredible in the short time he was in the movie. The airport battle was jaw-dropping and the movie sets the MCU down a very interesting path that I hope will play out very well in future films.

 

6. Deadpool 

Holy cow, this movie was such a surprise. I had high hopes that this film was going to be good, but I did not expect the film to be THIS GOOD. Ryan Reynolds was born to play Deadpool. The movie is hilarious, and the perfect amount of Deadpool-insanity. Yes, the film is a superhero origin story that we have seen SO many times, but the pacing of this movie is so well done, that the movie feels very refreshing in its story-telling. Deadpool is one of the greatest superhero movies ever made, period.

 

5. 10 Cloverfield Lane

Basically set-up like a Twilight Zone episode, 10 Cloverfield Lane was an excellent thriller. John Goodman steals the spotlight and delivers a chilling performance. The mystery in this film was so engaging, and is heightened by the small environment these characters are trapped in. Some people hated the ending, but for me, the ending is pretty amazing. Yes, it is a sudden shift in tone, but that is why I liked it so much. If you enjoy the Twilight Zone, I think you will really enjoy this movie.

 

4. Sing Street

Sing Street is a wonderful film that surprised me by its ending. The movie is set-up like a “boy-meets-girl” film, but by its ending you find out the movie is so much more than that. The music in the film is great, and fits well with the tone of the movie. Pay attention to Jack Reynor’s role as the older brother because he is more important to the story than you may think. By the end of the film, I was crying because of how touching this movie was. If you have not seen Sing Street yet, do yourself a favor and watch it on Netflix!

 

3. Hacksaw Ridge

One of my favorite character arcs in a film is a character’s struggle with faith. It doesn’t have to be religious faith, it just has to be a character’s beliefs being tested. Hacksaw Ridge tells this arc by placing this character in one of the most brutal depictions of war I have ever seen on screen. Andrew Garfield does a great job portraying a man who is being pushed to the limits. The movie is shot so well by Mel Gibson, that I actually broke down and cried during a sequence in this film, simply because of the scene’s presentation. This movie was powerful to say the least.

 

2. The Little Prince

I feel bad for my friends, because ever since I saw this movie on Netflix, I haven’t stopped talking about it. The Little Prince is one of the few movies I have seen that actually changed the way I live my life. I plan on doing an actual review of the film soon, so I won’t go into too much detail as to why this film is on my list. The movie is GORGEOUS, and has a solid cast of characters. This is a PG film that I believe is actually better for adults than it is for kids. I’m not saying the film is inappropriate for kids, I just think that adults are going to get more out of this film than kids are. The adventure in the film is entertaining for kids, but it’s the themes and relationships between these characters that is so important. I sat down to watch a cute, little animated film, and by the end I was sobbing. I could go on and on about why this film is so important, but instead I’ll let you experience this for yourself. Go see The Little Prince on Netflix, please.

 

1. Arrival

Arrival was the most entertaining and moving experience I had in the theater this year. The movie’s storytelling is flawless, and the concept of the film is so original and refreshing. Amy Adams excels in her role, and Denis Villeneuve directs this movie with so much passion. The revelation in the 3rd act had my jaw on the floor. Arrival deserves all the praise it has been receiving ever since it was released in theaters. This movie is easily my favorite film of 2016, and I hope 2017 offers many films as original as this one.  

 

So there is my list of the Top 10 Movies of 2016!

What are your favorite movies of 2016?

I will also be making a list of my Top 10 Most Anticipated Movies of 2017, so look out for that.

Thanks for reading!

-Manny 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “TOP TEN MOVIES OF 2016

  1. I think overall Hacksaw was probably my favorite movie this year. I would say it was the best this year for a few reasons. It’s one of if not the only movie that I can think of where I remember getting choked up just watching the trailer. 😂 It is also the movie I recommended the most this year. The story is incredible and I can’t recall a time in either of the showings where I was distracted from the movie in the slightest. Mel Gibson did a really good job of show casing how terrifying and gruesome war is and in my opinion didn’t go overboard with it. Andrew Garfield’s performance was bar none as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

