“Rogue One: A Star Wars Story” SPOILERS REVIEW

**Spoilers for Rogue One: A Star Wars Story**

So for my SPOILER-filled reviews, I don’t want to rehash my review with spoilers so, instead, I am going to answer a survey of the film with various questions I come up with (i.e. what was your favorite moment of the movie?). I also want to encourage you guys to answer the questions as well in the comments below so we can have some awesome conversations about the films. I want to hear YOUR opinions and have some great chats!

Okay, time to talk about Rogue One: A Star Wars Story:

Q. WHO IS YOUR FAVORITE CHARACTER IN THE MOVIE?

A. On my first viewing of the film, I really thought Chirrut (Donnie Yen) was my favorite. He has a great action scene and was a very charming fellow. His faith in the Force was really cool to see and I thought his death was very admirable. However, after seeing the movie for a second time, I think Cassian is my favorite character of Rogue One. He doesn’t add a whole lot to the action sequences but the concept of his character being a good guy that does bad things was very interesting! He’s like Han Solo, except instead of killing bounty hunters, Cassian kills crippled rebel spies… I want to know more about Cassian’s past and the other bad things he has done. I think he’s backstory would be really neat to explore and I liked his progression through the film. Also, quick shout-out to K-2SO! Such a funny character that was surprisingly thoughtful, and has a wicked shot. K-2SO has some serious skills with a blaster.

Q. WHAT WAS YOUR FAVORITE MOMENT IN THE MOVIE?

A. The whole third-act of the movie, including the ending is an obvious answer, so I’m not going to pick that as my favorite moment. Although, the AT-AT reveal was amazing, even if they were pretty weak against some X-Wings. Another scene I enjoyed was the battle on Eadu, where Galen Erso was killed. Chirrut has an incredible Tie-Fighter kill, and I thought it was unique to have a Rebel Y-Wing Bomber be the one responsible for Galen’s death. It was a cool little twist that gave us a touching moment with Jyn and Galen. Honestly, my favorite moment in Rogue One is Bail Organa’s final conversation with Mon Mothma. First off, I appreciate the fact that this movie wasn’t scared to include a character from the prequels. Secondly, any mention of my favorite Star Wars character of all time, Obi-Wan Kenobi, instantly has my attention. Sure, it’s pretty much just a line for the fans and a wink at the camera, but it worked for me! Please make an Obi-Wan spin-off movie… PLEASE!

Q. WHAT WAS YOUR LEAST FAVORITE MOMENT IN THE MOVIE?

A. The moments with Saw Gerrera and Bodhi were definitely my least favorite moments in the film. They don’t really add anything to the movie and Saw’s stupid voice was so annoying. The worst moment was the scene involving the tentacle monster that reads minds in order to move the plot forward and have Saw finally believe that Bodhi is telling the truth. Why is this scene in the movie? It’s so weird and unnecessary. It reminds me of the Rathtar chase-sequence in The Force Awakens. That scene adds nothing to the overall plot of the movie and the CGI-monsters felt completely out of place in a movie filled with practical effects. This scene is very much like that one. Useless and gross to look at.

Q. DID YOU LIKE THE ENDING OF ROGUE ONE?

A. Yes! Are you kidding me? Seeing Darth Vader as an unstoppable force was great! The fact that we finally got to see Darth Vader actually kill a bunch of people in a movie was so satisfying. He was basically a horror-movie villain for Star Wars. It was awesome! I thought it was really smart for the film to end right when A New Hope starts. It gives some background info on the situation these rebels are in at the beginning of A New Hope. However, I wish they would have avoided using CGI for Leia in the end. Showing her from the back was enough for me.

Q. WHAT WAS THE SADDEST DEATH IN THE MOVIE?

A. I thought K-2SO’s death was pretty sad. I really felt sad for the droid when he died, but it was a very honorable death for Cassian and Jyn. My pick for the saddest death, though, was Bodhi’s death. He does a lot for the crew behind the scenes of the action and is an underrated part of the “Rogue One” squad. He completes his one big conflict by getting the message out to the other rebels, and just as he succeeds, a grenade is thrown into the ship and he dies. Every other “main” character had a chance to face their deaths and accept it. Bodhi’s death was so sudden. It was pretty dark and I really liked it.

Q. HOW WOULD YOU RANK THIS MOVIE WITH THE OTHER STAR WARS FILMS?

A. I’m not going to explain my ranking here (that is for another blog post in the future) but here is my ranking of the films for worst to best:

  • Attack of the Clones
  • The Phantom Menace
  • Revenge of the Sith
  • Return of the Jedi
  • Rogue One
  • The Force Awakens
  • A New Hope
  • The Empire Strikes Back

So those are my SPOILER-filled thoughts on Rogue One: A Star Wars Story.

Post your answers in the comments below and let’s start a conversation!

Thanks for reading!

Manny 🙂

**My next review will be on Whiplash, a film I FINALLY got to see**

4 thoughts on ““Rogue One: A Star Wars Story” SPOILERS REVIEW

  1. *Spoilers*
    I have a praise for perhaps a more grim aspect of the film but I was actually glad to see that none of the heroes really made it out in the end. It’s not that I disliked the characters or anything like that but I just liked that the movie dared to actually kill off the main characters. The movie didn’t kill them off for a season opener or finale (Walking Dead) either, they killed them off in a valiant and understandable way. It really goes to showcase what the heart and spirit of the Rebellion is more than what can often be done in the original trilogy and that’s the point of a spin-off: they add to the characters and overall motivations of the original narrative. Jyn’s rally speech on Scarif may have been expected and somewhat cheesy to some but the sentiments she expressed really are what the heart of the Rebellion and the movie are about, hope and purpose driving a small few against impossible odds.

    Like

Leave a Reply

