“Rogue One: A Star Wars Story” SPOILER -FREE REVIEW

**NO SPOILERS in this review. I will post a SPOILER review on Rogue One: A Star Wars Story soon!**

 

For me, Star Wars is the greatest movie franchise of all time. There is no franchise that comes even close. So obviously, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story was my most anticipated movie of 2016. Now that I finally got to see the first spin-off Star Wars movie, it’s time to review it!

For those that don’t know, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story is about a group of rebels that go on a mission to steal the Death Star plans that leads to the events of A New Hope.

I’m happy to say that I really, really enjoyed this movie. I think it is a great start for the Star Wars spin-off films and is a really well-crafted film. The movie just looks and feels like Star Wars. It feels like it belongs right before A New Hope, and it is nice to see that! Rogue One takes a lot of risks, and most of the time it works really well. This movie does its best to separate itself from the original Star Wars saga and tell its own tale.

Rogue One introduces several new and amazing characters. Jyn Erso was a great leader for the crew, and works well as the main character of the film. K-2SO, the new droid of the franchise, was a standout. He brings much-needed humor to a really gritty Star Wars film, without being a distraction. Chirrut, played by the excellent Donnie Yen, was probably my favorite character. He is a charming, laid back guy who kicks a lot of butt with a staff. The idea of Chirrut being a believer in the Force, and not actually being a Force user was a neat concept. I enjoy the fact that the new movies are portraying the Force as a supernatural entity, rather than a scientific one (thank you prequels…). One of the more intriguing characters that wasn’t explored enough was Cassian Andor. Cassian is a Rebel that isn’t as squeaky-clean as the Rebels we see in the original films. That’s something that I liked about Rogue One. It shows us that sometimes, in order to win, the Rebels had to do some pretty shady things. I think that Krennic works well as the villain for Rogue One. He doesn’t play a big role in the action scenes, but works well as the man pulling the strings. Saw Gerrera was the one “new” addition that I wasn’t a big fan of. I applaud the film for using a character from the Clone Wars show, however, I did not enjoy Forrest Whitaker’s portrayal of Saw. He doesn’t do a whole lot in the film, and I didn’t really care for the scenes he was in.

Even though Rogue One has plenty of cool characters, I found that by the end of the movie I wasn’t emotionally invested in these characters. The movie moves at a quick pace and covers a short period of Star Wars history, so we never get to really learn about these characters. We only learn enough to keep the plot moving. By the end of the film, I wanted to really care for these characters as much as I care about characters like Han, Rey, or Luke. Unfortunately, as interesting as these characters are, I’m just not as attached to them as I wanted to be.

There is one CGI character in the film that was a bit distracting. I liked what the character brings to the film, I’m just worried that years from now, when I watch Rogue One, the special effects won’t hold up.

Don’t expect too much from Darth Vader in this movie. I get why he is BARELY in the movie, but I’m just a needy Star Wars fan that wants as much Darth Vader as I can get!

This movie does a really good job at showing us how powerful the Empire is across the galaxy. We get to see the scale of the Empire, and how small the Rebels are in comparison. Almost every planet we see in the film is somehow controlled by the Empire for various reasons.

Rogue One addresses an issue people have had with Star Wars ever since A New Hope came out. I won’t tell you what it is, but it is such a smart thing for the film to do.

The third act of Rogue One is incredible. The movie is set-up like a war film, and it shows in its land and space battles. Seeing X-Wings fly around in space is a treat to see, and the gritty combat on land was exhilarating. All the action sequences in the film were fun to watch. I had a giant smile on my face the entire time.

This movie’s ending is the best in the series, and arguably, one of the best moments in Star Wars, period. Why? Well you have to go see the movie yourself, because I’m not going to spoil it here.

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story was a wonderful spin-off to Star Wars. Even though I wasn’t as attached to the characters as I wanted to be, I had a great time with the film. This movie gave me hope for the other spin-off films, especially the Han Solo movie. I’m going to give Rogue One: A Star Wars Story a GREAT out of 10.

What did you think of Rogue One: A Star Wars Story?

Who is your favorite character in Rogue One (Darth Vader does not count.)??

Let me know down below!

Thanks for reading!

Manny 🙂

 

**My next entry will be a SPOILER discussion on Rogue One so look out for that soon!**

Leave a Reply

