What I Want In… “Spider-Man: Homecoming”

Hey Guys!!

So, I just read a report online that the trailer for Spider-Man: Homecoming may release with Rogue One, and OH MY GOSH I CANNOT CONTAIN MY EXCITEMENT!!

Spider-Man is my all-time favorite super hero and Homecoming is one of my most anticipated movies of 2017. I wanted to write a post about a few things that I want in Spider-Man: Homecoming.

So…uh… here it goes…

Number 1. NO UNCLE BEN.

Anyone who has seen a Spider-Man film or read a comic knows that Peter Parker had an Uncle named Ben who got shot and Peter was somehow responsible. We ALL know this. Just like how everyone knows that Batman’s parents died when he was child, but for some reason in Batman v Superman, they have to tell us over and over again that he’s parents died! WE GET IT. NOW MOVE ON!!

Now, I’m not saying the movie should completely ignore Uncle Ben’s existence because he is an important part of Spider-Man’s story. However, we do not need flashbacks to show us how and why Uncle Ben got shot and died. A comment or two about Uncle Ben is fine, but I don’t want the movie to spend too much unnecessary time devoted to something we already know.

Number 2. UNCLE TONY.

If there’s one thing that Peter Parker lacks now a days it’s a father-figure. But I think there is a certain character that could fit that place… Tony Stark.

I mean, think about it. How cool would that be? Peter Parker looking to a man like TONY STARK as a “father”…

Imagine Tony Stark acting like a father. It’s a unique shift to the character that we haven’t really seen. Tony would look at Peter more like an apprentice, but I believe that Peter would see Tony as more than a “mentor”.

Even if it doesn’t play out like this, I’m excited to see the relationship between Peter and Tony develop more in Homecoming

Number 3. HOMECOMING DRAMA

A big theme in any Spider-Man story is the struggle between balancing Peter Parker’s life and Spider-Man’s. I want the movie to focus on the struggles that Peter Parker faces in high school during Homecoming AS WELL AS the problems that he has as a superhero!

I want the movie to portray itself as a “coming-of-age” story in high school where the teenager also happens to be a superhero…

I just think it’s a fun twist on superhero films that could be really refreshing!

So, those are three things that I really want in Spider-Man: Homecoming and we’ll see if any of them actually happen next summer. If not, it’s no big deal, because I’m getting a NEW Spider-Man movie that actually takes place in the same world that Ironman and Captain America live in!!

What are you guys looking forward to in Spider-Man: Homecoming? Let me know!

It’s a good time to be a Spidey fan!!

Manny 🙂

Leave a Reply

